Corner of Wharf and Grafton Streets, Maclean 2463 NSW


OPENING HOURS are  TUESDAY 9AM - 12MD, WEDNESDAY 1 - 4 PM, SATURDAY 1pm - 4 PM or by appointment phone / fax 0266453416

Click on WHAT IS NEW 



Formed in 1969 the Maclean District Historical Society has actively collected artifacts and researched the history relevant to this unique area. Much of the collection is on display either in the Stone Cottage or the Bicentennial Museum. Each of these buildings is an integral part of the Society, the Stone Cottage being the original building on the site dating back to 1889, whilst the Museum was constructed with Federal Government assistance in the form of a grant in the Bicentennial Year of 1988. Apart from managing this collection, our volunteers have been and are currently conducting research into the history of the original inhabitants and the early settlers, and local history of this area.

The Maclean District Historical Society is a totally voluntary organisation.

The volunteers:
  • prepare, set up and maintain the Museum displays and the collection
  • research and collate family histories ( to see the list of 10,000 + family names, click here)
  • research, collate and publish the history of local organisations, industries and localities
  • produce a quarterly newsletter, The Advocate
  • fund raise through market stalls and sale of publications
  • staff the Museum 3 days a week

  • The Museum Complex.

    The Maclean District Historical Society complex at the corner of Wharf and Grafton Streets, Maclean, comprises:

    The Stone Cottage

    built by Johann George Schaefer in 1889 from locally (on site) hewed sandstone. The original corrugated iron roof has been replaced but not the concave iron over the verandahs on the west and southern sides and the kitchen area. This 'turn of the century' cottage comprises 5 rooms and a hall and is furnished with items, mainly from the early 1900's, in the music room, the main bedroom, parlour and children's room. At the back is the kitchen with its large, open fireplace with many items displayed on the large table, on shelves and in two large dressers.

    The Museum

    Built in the Bicentennial Year, 1988, is connected by a pathway to the southern entrance which opens into a mezzanine floor where the displays are in large glass cases or on an open plan. Visitors can view the ground floor level where large items such as a tractor, sulkies, drays, cane carts and farm equipment are exhibited. The two floors are connected by an internal stairway. An attractive mural by Linda El Mir depicting aspects of the cane industry adds to the interest of the ground floor. A strong room allows for archivally stored photos and documents and a work area downstairs allows for the voluntary staff to spend many hours on conservation and repair work.

    The Shop

    A small area displays our current publications for sale as well as souvenir type items, jams, pickles and second hand books. The purchase of even the smallest item helps our funds.
    magic supplies
    Free Hit Countersstats
    magic supplies